Walking Through the Weekend: Belgrade, Serbia

Even though I had already reached my goal of #20under20, I had to see my freshman year roommate in her home country. Serbia was the last trip of my study abroad experience and I’m so glad that was the last place I was able to experience.

I received so much hospitality from my roommates family. I felt like a tourist and a local all at the same time. I was picked up from the airport by my roommate, Anja, and we headed back to her apartment. Shortly after, we went to her grandma’s house and I had some of the best soup I’ve ever eaten. I also had traditional food which was delicious. Later that night, we caught a movie and relaxed which was exactly what I needed.

The next day, she showed me around the city and took me to the cool hangouts. The city is filled with cute little shops and decorative Christmas lights. The places by the water are captivating and trendy, which I was so excited about. Her friends that I meant were so sweet and full of inspiration.

The next day Anja took me to the fortress. She took me to a picturesque spot and we finally took our photo together. After, we just sat in a park bench overlooking the water and talking about life. The next day I was able to watch a Baptism and it was really cool to see it and I was so thankful that her family welcomed me into such a special occasion. After the event, Anja and her parents took me to a Serbian buffet, where they served traditional food. I don’t think I’ve ever eaten so much food in one sitting and I wasn’t complaining.

I had such a relaxing weekend hanging out with my old friend. I couldn’t have asked for a better host to show me around the city. I’m so grateful that her family was so welcoming and happy to have me. It was a great place to see and I’m glad I went.

Tips for the Trip: Make sure to buy tickets for public transportation. They’re starting to enforce ticket checks.

Leave a Reply

